Management and Board

Our Board sets strategic directions, policy and goals for management. These must meet our obligations under the Water (Governance) Act.


Board of Directors

Board Directors, left to right: John Gavens, Bernard Walsh, Rebecca Leonard, Elaine Carbines, Tracey Slatter, Jo Plummer, Ann Lansberry and Des Powell.

Our Board comprises 7 non-executive directors and the Managing Director. The Board is appointed by the Minister for Water. The Board appoints the Managing Director.

The Board meets monthly, except January, and at other times as required. Executive team members also attend.  

Jo Plummer Chair
Elaine Carbines Deputy Chair
Tracey Slatter Managing Director
John Gavens Director
Rebecca Leonard Director
Bernard Walsh Director
Ann Lansberry Director
Des Powell Director 

  Board director profiles



Executive leadership team

The executive leadership team comprises the Managing Director and six general managers. 

Tracey Slatter Managing Director
Kate Sullivan General Manager Strategy and Partnerships
Shaun Cumming General Manager Business Transformation
Melissa Stephens General Manager People and Safety 
Jo Murdoch General Manager Customers and Community
Michael Watson General Manager Corporate Governance and Company Secretary
Paul Northey General Manager Infrastructure Services

   Organisational structure (correct at 21 August 2017)



More information

For more detail on our Board structure, management and director profiles, please refer to our Annual Report.

  Annual Report